Greetings from Berlin, Germany

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JohnnyHa

Reaction score
Hello to all from busy Berlin, Germany!

I have occasionally looked into this forum from time to time (and got some inspirations from it), and have finally decided to register. Whilst it is currently not very likely that I will post much, I thought it was polite at least to write an introduction.

I have been brewing since early 2013 (only all-grain and bottles, no kits or kegs). I'm German and also based in Germany (thus I mainly post on hobbybrauer.de) but I also lived in the UK for twelve years and have relatives in the US so I have some good links to English-speaking countries.

My favourite beers are simple bottom-fermented lagers (a second fridge for 50€ together with a UT-200 thermostat to enable controlled fermentation was probably one of the best investments in my homebrewing "career"), and I'm also a great fan of brewing by means of traditional decoction mashing.

I'm not sure if I find the time to write a lot here as I'm quite busy with my activities and posting in Germany but I hope to have a look in here from time to time as well.

All the best to all and happy brewing!

PS: If somebody comes over to Berlin (or Germany in general) I can perhaps offer some advice on where to best sample interesting beers, and perhaps also which places to avoid. That certainly applies to Berlin but I'm getting about a bit and have visited quite a few places elsewhere in Germany as well.

Wie gehts.

I lived in Berlin for a most wonderful 2 months, followed by 4 months in Mannheim. I think that if anyone visits Berlin and is not able to find a good beer they are doing something wrong :D