Ben's Ancient Blueberry Mead (Shameless Ripoff)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BHolt

Reaction score
I'm a newbie brewer. So far, I've done two batches of cider (one came out decently). I decided mead is my thing, because it's made of honey and when you utter the name you sound like a viking. I also liked the ancient-ness of it.

I like recipes that are easy for now. I want something that takes about a month to ferment (not three years) and the less racking and obscure chemicals, the better. I even made my second batch of cider with natural yeast. It came out terrible but I still like the idea.

I've done one batch so far of Joe's Grape Mead. It came out so tasty I now have a batch of Ancient Orange going (just about ready). It's done in a month, uses yeast from the grocery store, oranges, cinnamon, honey, raisins, and no fancy chemicals. Woo!

So this recipe is almost the same as the ancient orange, except I used blueberries instead of oranges and cut out the spices.

3 1/2 pounds of honey (I'm too cheap to be picky)
A bowl of frozen blueberries (about two cups)
15 or so raisins (for yeast nutrients)
1 tsp Fleishmann’s bread yeast
1 clove

Follow the instructions on the Ancient Orange page, which are well-written.

Keep in mind that blueberries expand a bit more than you'd think. In my picture below, that's not enough room and after a few hours juice was coming out the top. Leave a bit more room than I did. After I drained a tiny bit it's now going great.

I'll let you know how this turns out. Maybe it's a crappy idea, I dunno!

blueberrymead.jpg

Hmm... maybe another recipe I should try in a small batch, since I'm planning on getting more 1 gal bottles to try a variety of recipes??