Can You Help Me Plan a Belgian Strong Ale? Please.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Babybatch

Reaction score
Okay...

I'm a total newbie. I recently received a NB Deluxe starter kit as a gift. It came with an American Wheat Beer Extract Kit. I will be giving it a go as soon as I collect enough bottles. In the meantime I've been reading like a mad man and watch tons of videos that make everything look so simple. (I'm sure it's not that simple.)

Lately I've become a fan of the Darken Belgian style beers. I think that it would be awesome to make my own that will be ready around that time of the arrival of my first child. I'd also like to do it as my first all-grain. (Is this too ambitious?) I know that some planning will be required. I will need some more equipment, a recipe, special yeast, and patience. And... some help from you if you are willing.

From your experience what will I need?

What would be a good and accessible recipe?

What other pointer might you offer?

Thanks in advance!

Look up this thread if you want to go for it all, a Westy XII clone.
Many other good Dark Strong recipes out there too.
https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f73/pious-westvleteren-12-style-quad-multiple-147815/

A couple of pointers.
-You will need authentic liquid yeast for the recipe (many Belgians use WYeast 3787). Build up a 1 gallon yeast starter, or easier yet make a smallish Patersbier to grow the yeast and wash yeast from that 5 gallon batch to pitch to the Dark Strong.