1st time mead-maker w/ sulfer smell

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mr_y82

Reaction score
I was hoping you guys had some insights/advice on this situation... I am not sure how concerning it is. My mead, now 8 days old, has a light sulfur aroma. It started at 1.080, and is at 1.002 today... I did taste it (didn't drink it), and found it to be surprisingly pleasant, but there is a sulfur smell. I have read that red star cote des blancs is associated with some sulfur smells, but I am a little concerned because I put an air lock on it as soon as I pitched the yeast. I shook the hell out of it before hand (several times) and added plenty of nutrient... anyway, as a newb, I have some questions:

1) is it a bad idea to use an airlock in primary???... as I have read it seems like it needs the air during primary... is this correct???

2) what steps, if any, should I take to rectify this smell (should I rack it back and forth between 2 jugs a few times splashing it around as I do, to aerate it???

...or will that only work before the fermentation has slowed ... mine does not have far to go... 1.080 to 1.002 in 8 days). I noticed a slight sulfur odor a couple days in, but thought it was normal...

3) will h2s ruin a batch in the sense that is is unsafe to drink, or just unappealing???

4) also... when is it "safe" to start drinking the waste from hydrometer readings (as I understand, immature mead will make one sick)???

5) what to use in airlock... water, vodka, something else???

please tell me how to avoid this issue in the future, or point me in the right direction...

more info on batch: