My Nottingham dry yeast smells like rubber

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crypt0

Reaction score
Is it normal for Nottinghams dry ale yeast to smell like rubber?

When i originally rehydrated the yeast to pitch I could definitely detect a rubbery smell in the (clean and sanitized) pyrex container. I pitched it, got a vigerous fermentation and everything looked fine.

3.5 weeks later I racked off the primary and into the keg for conditioning/carbonation. I didn't notice the smell on the beer, but as soon as I emptied the better bottle, I could definitely detect a rubbery smell.

Could this be yeast autolysis? I've never used this strain before.

A number of people are reporting strange behavior for that lot #. I and many others have used it with no issues, but there might be something going on. Where did you get your yeast sachels from?

Thanks for the heads up.

Yes I've found a thread in question with people having issues with this lot #. I bought the yeast (a bunch of them in fact) from a local BOP wine dealer. It concerns me how he stores the yeast - basically in a little bin in direct sunlight out in the open instead of refridgerated.

I'll let the beer finish as it seems to be fermenting normally plus its already racked to keg but the smell of this yeast gives me serious concerns. Is there a recall on this lot # does anyone know?

Is there some kind of conspiracy afoot on this forum to slander Nottingham???? I've used Nottingham for years with success, as have a lot of my home brewing superiors. Either something bad is going on @ Nottingham, or else a bunch of Danstar stock-holders have infiltrated this forum.