No love for Copper Ales?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rook

Reaction score
I live in the great PacNW, and I'm personally blessed to live within spitting distance of Redhook Brewery, no they're not the best around, but it was their Chinook Copper Ale that was the first beer that I tried and said "Dang, I actually like this". Since then they rebranded that beer as Copperhook and have made it a seasonal beer. Its also SWMBO's favorite beer and I'd really love to be able to clone it. I'm still fairly new to this whole thing and I've looked through the recipe databases that I can find but definately no mention of this beer, heck its hard to find ANY copper ale beers. Anyone have any ideas? Its got a hoppier crisper bite than the ESB, but maltier than a pale ale.

Any Help guys? :)

:mug:

"Copper Ale" is not a really well defined style, although I have had a few commercial beers that were called that. I'd think of it as an APA or similar beer, but with a maltier grainbill using munich malt (which also gives a copper color).

You might want to take a look at this recipe of mine, whihc was one of the best beers I've ever made:

http://hbd.org/cgi-bin/recipator/recipator?group=3&item=5637

If you upped the munich on this, I think it's pretty-much be a copper ale.

I've also brewed Brew Pastor's Bastard Lager (you can search for it here), which is a California Common with quite a bit in common with that APA recipe of mine.

If you're an extract brewer, you can get munich LME from Northern Brewer and maybe from other places.

Check out midwestsupplies Copper Ale kit. I've purchased this, but not yet brewed it as I'm working on modifying the recipe a tad to up the IBU slightly.