Belgian IPA with Sriracha

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

muddy1015

Reaction score
A homebrew competition recently caught my eye as it had a requirement that the 'wild' category use sriracha, caravienne, and a belgian yeast. I decided to go for it because who doesn't love sriracha right?

I decided to go for a Belgian IPA, figuring maybe the bitterness/taste would offset and work well with the sriracha. Anyway this is my first time making an IPA or using Belgian yeast so I essentially copied the Raging ***** CYBI recipe grain bill but added a small amount of caravienne (actually excited to see how it adds to Raging *****) and I modified the hops per another forum on here. And of course sriracha is added.

It's using WLP 550 Belgian yeast

BeerSmith 2 Recipe Printout - http://www.beersmith.com
Recipe: Belgian IPA - Sriracha
Brewer: Dan
Asst Brewer:
Style: Belgian Specialty Ale
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (30.0)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Boil Size: 7.76 gal
Post Boil Volume: 6.76 gal
Batch Size (fermenter): 5.50 gal
Bottling Volume: 4.75 gal
Estimated OG: 1.073 SG
Estimated Color: 9.9 SRM
Estimated IBU: 102.3 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 65.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 76.8 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amt Name Type # %/IBU
15 lbs 8.0 oz Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 1 91.2 %
1 lbs Caramel/Crystal Malt - 60L (60.0 SRM) Grain 2 5.9 %
8.0 oz Caravienne Malt (22.0 SRM) Grain 3 2.9 %
1.00 oz Warrior [16.00 %] - Boil 60.0 min Hop 4 42.3 IBUs
0.50 oz Columbus (Tomahawk) [14.00 %] - Boil 60. Hop 5 18.5 IBUs
0.50 oz Amarillo Gold [9.60 %] - Boil 30.0 min Hop 6 9.8 IBUs
1.10 oz Columbus (Tomahawk) [14.00 %] - Boil 15. Hop 7 20.2 IBUs
0.80 oz Amarillo Gold [9.60 %] - Boil 15.0 min Hop 8 10.1 IBUs