Youthberry Tea Mead

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoeyB612

Reaction score
Pictures here:
IMG_4335.JPG
IMG_4333.JPG

This is an experimental recipe I tried out last month. I'm still pretty new to meadmaking so feel free to give me any advice on how to improve this recipe. I must say, out of the few recipes I've made so far, this is my favorite.

I made a mistake while bottling so there is a little more sediment than intended it did, however, clear nicely. I also lacked a hydrometer so I don't have the starting gravity or finishing gravity for this batch.

I keep all my notes and recipes in a journal, so the following is a direct transcription from there.

INGREDIENTS
3 lb honey
4 sachets youthberry tea
Red Star Champagne Yeast .5 pkt
1 Gal water

SETUP
Gallon bottle (Sanitized)
Bubble Airlock (Sanitized)

PROCEDURE
Reserve 3 cups of water
Brew tea, strong as possible
Add to honey
Mix and allow to cool
Add Yeast and shake/stir thoroughly
Seal with airlock

NOTES
Started ferment on 08/06/18 (day 1)
08/25/18 (day 19)
Added campden, as of 7pm next day still lots of bubbling, will wait longer before dosing again. (Side note: didn't need to)

BOTTLING
27/08/18 (day 21)
5 clean Flip top bottles and a clean wine bottle. Added a little pectic to each. Stored in fridge

TASTE
Sweet, slightly fruity. Kinda like a rosé. Slight alcohol burn.

AROMA
Fruity aroma. Smells like a mead.

AGING
1 bottle set for 1yr. open: 27/09/19.
Editing note: Everything else was given away or drank quickly. Picture is of the one year bottle.