Yeast washing vs saving extra from stir plate

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rtstrider

Reaction score
Hello fellow home brewers! I've been playing around with yeast now for a couple of months and am loving the learning process! Currently I've been overbuilding starters by .5L and saving that slurry to build a starter for future batches. Figure that would give the purest yeast pitch vs yeast washing. Now what I do is decant the starter wort when it's time to build a starter with the saved yeast, use pilsner dme and build a 1.040 1l starter, let that ferment out for 48 hours or so, then add .5l liters of new starter wort to bring the total up to 1.5l of 1.040 wort, ferment that for 48 hours or so, pitch off .5l liters into a pint mason jar, then cold crash, decant, pitch the 1l starter into the batch I'm making.

I've also been toying with yeast washing. As a matter of fact I have a batch of witbier on washed Wyeast 3944 going now. Built a 1l 1.040 starter (due to this sitting in the fridge for a month or two) and pitched. So far so good! So my question is say I had a batch of us-05 (dry yeast is cheaper and not really worth washing I know but I'm wanting to learn)/1056/wlp001 would it be beneficial to continue building up the 1.5l of wort, saving/repitching the .5l or should I just look into washing? Other thing is I worry that say I brew a pale ale/ipa and wash. From reading it sounds like once you go that route you couldn't repitch that into say a blonde without possibly getting flavors from the previous batches? The end goal is to invest in some test tubes and play with freezing yeast but I'm really wanting to learn and have a better understanding of the process on the way :)

I've read the sticky and any extra advice would be greatly appreciated!