Wyeast 1272 - weird fermentation?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chungking

Reaction score
Hi,

I've been brewing for a couple of years and I have a question about Wyeast American ale II 1272 yeast. I usually use US05 in pretty much everything, as I mostly make ipa's. I just made a karma citra all grain recipe from northern Brewer. Everything went good, got an OG of 1.055. It's been fermenting for 2 weeks at 64-66 degrees F. Pretty normal fermentation to begin with, but I'm noticing the yeast isn't dropping out, like it usually does after 1-2 weeks in primary. In fact, it all seems to be collecting at the top and not clearing. I was going to dry hop soon, but I don't want to with all the huge globs of yeast at the top. Never had a beer do this, but I've never used Wyeast 1272 either.

Should I wait another week? Open her up and stir it gently? Should I just go ahead and dry hop? It's just weird and its bothering me. Doesn't look like an infection, just what the bottom of the fermenter looks like, except at the top. I'll try and post a picture tomorrow.

Thanks!

that is strange. I use 1272 a lot and it usually drops clear . I find that it clears better than US-05.

So I opened it up to take a hydro reading. Smelled and tasted fine. I broke up the yeast on top by gently stirring with the hydrometer. It seemed to break up on and sink. The reading read 1.014, so it did ferment ok. Closed it back up and went to sleep.

Just woke up, and it appears the yeast floated back up. It's not as bad as before I broke it up, but there's still a lot of yeast up there for 2 weeks in primary. Below are some pics.

View attachment ImageUploadedByHome Brew1446804580.411759.jpg
View attachment ImageUploadedByHome Brew1446804663.433704.jpg