Wit yeast help needed fast

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

popsicleian

Reaction score
My latest brew session has been a bit of a comedy of errors. I brewed up a wit this morning, and I was planning on fermenting with Wyeast 3711 (French Saison). I've never used a smack pack before, so when I read "locate inner packet" I went ahead and ripped that sucker open. It wasn't until I reached my grubby hand inside and pulled out the nutrient pack that I realized I had made a horrible mistake. I went ahead with my boil and cooling and transferred the wort to my fermentor.

I wasn't comfortable pitching the yeast I messed up, so I ran to NB since I had to return something anyway. I bought what I thought was another packet of 3711, but when I got home (and after I had already activated the pack) I realized it was actually 3724 (Belgian Saison).

I'm not sure what to do here. I suppose I could go back to NB and buy another packet of 3711, but that would be kind of a pain, and it would increase the cost of what is already becoming a bit of a pricey batch. I could also pitch the 3724, but I don't know if the character of that yeast would go as well with the wit grain bill and spices. I also don't really have any way to keep that yeast as warm as it probably needs to be to finish--I'd have to go buy an aquarium heater or something, plus my Speidel fermentor with the wort in it has a spigot right now, so submersion might not be the best idea. The only other yeasts I have on hand are WLP-001 and US-05.

I don't want the wort to sit for too long before I pitch (it has been about 2 hours already), so any advice you can give would be much appreciated.