Why won't my Krausens go away?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GotDrunkThenLost

Reaction score
So you can skip the rest of the post, 5 brews 4 undying krausen am I doing something daft?

Being a statto by trade I appreciate the power of the number of tests is low so I'm still hopeful that it's just youthful (noob) impatience.

Out of the 5 batches I've brewed so far only 1 batch has had a Krausen fall. I'm a noob so I wouldn't be at all surprised if I'm doing something daft. I've done a mix of AG BIAB and extract batches but only just getting used to temp control and making starters.

Batch 1 - 2 weeks primary (blonde ale at FG still had krausen) racked from under it. Yeast was WLP002

Batch 2 - 2 weeks primary (blonde ale at FG still had krausen) racked from under it. Safale 04 (I think, the UK one out of 04 and 05)

Batch 3 - (Hobgolin clone) 2 weeks primary the one time krausen went, I actually went to get the krausen off after a few days as I was aiming for an real ale style. WLP002.

Batch 4 - (main reason I'm annoyed) a blonde like batches 1 and 2, this one had better temp control. 2 weeks in primary still had krausen, started shaking/swirling it to try and get rid of krausen checking for a few days (opening the lid and looking) after 3 weeks in primary milky looking film on the top of the krausen and chemical smell I'm assuming there was an infection from looking at the krausen and it tasting fine at 2 weeks and crap after 3). WLP005