Wheat and what to do with it

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pwolfable

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm getting married mid August and my Fiance's mother gave me a big bucket of wheat from her father's last harvest that she would like me to incorporate into a beer for the wedding. Obviously a Wit would seem like an appropriate beer to brew, however, I'm unsure exactly how to use the wheat with the BIAB method. I'm fairly new to the BIAB scene. I've done 4 batches so far and am looking for advice from anyone that has done something like this in the past.

Thanks!

You can add unmalted wheat to the mash - doesn't matter how you are mashing (in a cooler mash tun, on a stove top, or BIAB), I think.

That's what I was thinking. I'm glad someone was able to confirm it. Has anyone done a cereal mash in a bag before? It seems like it might be extra difficult to clean out. Do you think it would make more sense to do it separately and put it in a muslin bag or something when incorporating into the rest of the malt? I'm not sure how well that would work.