Visual Guide to a Turbid Mash & Brew a Lambic v3

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChugachBrewing

Reaction score
Here we go! Turbid mashing sounds difficult, and... it can be. But you can do it and get amazing results! For those of you who follow any of the junk I post, you know I've done 2 other lambics... and I just emptied the 1 year old one and put it in stainless, as well as 8 gallons on 18lb of raspberries! Tasting notes in 3-4 mo. Currently the unblended is amazing.

A complete description of turbid mashing can be found here:
http://morebeer.com/articles/Brewing_Lambic_at_Home

Thought I'd post this for those visual learners. Disclaimer: I am not a professional, nor is this the only way to turbid mash. It is the more traditional way, but brewers like Boon use an alternative mash and still get great results. I'm sure others will disagree, or state that this isn't "Lambic" and frankly, I don't care. It is brewed exactly the same traditional method, aged in wood, and I use the traditional yeast blends. I call it Lambic. We can argue about titles on another thread. Now, onward!

Grist: 66% Pils, 33% Raw wheat.

First, make sure you have a REALLY nice false bottom, or use a LOT of rice hulls.

You're first addition of water will be hardly anything. It will be lumpy and important to integrate the water and grain together. My sink water comes out at 150, so I spray it directly on to attain 113 deg F. Rest. It's a pain to stir.

IMG_0336.jpg

IMG_0337.jpg

IMG_0340.jpg

IMG_0346.jpg

IMG_0348.jpg