Trying this IPA recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jwerner23

Reaction score
I am still a beginner brewer, have only brewed 4 batches and all were kits. I am only set up for extract right now would like to try All grain soon. This is the first recipe that I am making up and would like to get some input on what people think. I will be brewing this in a few weeks so taking advice till then.

Recipe:
6 lbs. Gold Liquid Malt extract

steeping grains
1/2 lb. Crystal 50-60L
1/4 lb. Belgian Aromatic Malt
1/2 lb. Golden Naked Oats

hops
1 oz. Nugget pellet hops for 50 min
1.5 oz. Centennial pellet Hops for 25 min
1.5 oz. Centennial pellet hops for 2 min
2 oz. Cascade leaf hops for dry hopping (thinking 7 days in secondary)

05 yeast

What do you guys think.

Thank you,
Jeff

You're gonna need a bit of 2-row to help convert sugars in the steeping grains. 1/2 - 1lb should be fine. Also, you're gonna get a lot more bittering off the 25 minute hops than you think. I'd do 10/5/0 additions and probably 2oz at a time.

If you added the oats for head retention, I'd rather use something like Carapils. Oats will leave a haze that only gelatin or extended cold conditioning will remove.

Yeah I was wondering a little about the hop schedule I might move the 25 min hop addition to 10 min. I am using the Golden Naked Oats for a little nutty berry flavor, when I read about them they sounded interesting and I am looking for that extra something in this beer.