Troubleshooting a flavor disaster

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skratch

Reaction score
I posted this in the recipe subforum first, but didn't get any bites.

I was hoping you guys might have some insight as to why two batches of partial mash beer that I made tasted, well, bad. I've been brewing for about three years or so and except for "The Summer of No Temperature Control" I've been lucky enough to generally make good tasting beer. Bear with my terminology below, because I'm far from being a certified BJCP judge. But I will nonetheless do my best to describe the flavor of the brews after providing the recipes.

The first beer was a Simcoe Pale Ale. Simple recipe: 4lbs Extra Light DME, 3lbs 2-row Pale Ale malt, 1lb Crystal 60L, and 8 oz. Biscuit. I added 1 oz. of Simcoe hops at 60 minutes, 15 minutes, and 3 minutes and pitched WLP001. In retrospect, the full ounce of 13% AA hops for an hour may have been a bit heavy.

I tasted the beer as I was kegging and was pretty disappointed. I hoped carbonation would magically "fix" it and waited until it was ready to drink from the keg. Unfortunately, it still tasted bad! The flavor can be described as a "flat" and overwhelming bitterness with little to no complexity which drowns out any malt character. An overall unpleasant flavor, tied to the bitterness, spreads through the mouth and lingers. The aroma completely lacks any sort of "good" hop notes like citrus, pine, or floral. It in fact smells very similar to how it tastes. Like an ugly child still loved by its mother, I am able to drink it and after a few of them I get used to the taste. It just tastes wrong though. I initially chalked it up to Simcoe hops not being my thing, since I had never used them before.