Tri clamp valves vs regular ball valve

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I have triclamps and its honestly not that big of a deal. They're easy to pull off the conical but I don't know that you'd have to remove the ball valves every time.

for sanitation, threads suck. o-rings are way better.

Tri clamp fittings are the standard in the dairy industry, which is even pickier about sanitation than brewers. (I know - I'm a manager at a big cheese plant by day).

We like them because they're able to be cleaned in place if you design your system right. That means no crevices, threaded fittings, pitting, etc. Ball valves aren't great because the seat the ball rotates in can't be cleaned in place. Butterfly valves are better, but our hardcore food safety folks don't like them. So, a triclamp ball valve is easy to remove for cleaning, but still technically should be hand-cleaned.

Since we're pretty much fully automated, we usually go with pneumatically controlled valves which have a beveled valve seat surface that can be cleaned without disassembling the valve.

The thing to realize is that having some TC fittings and some threaded fittings pretty much defeats the purpose. Either you go all sanitary or don't waste your money.

That realization saved me a lot of time in planning. I kept trying to plan a method to have threaded pre-boil and all TC post boil and kept wracking my brain until I finally said SCREW IT...literally.

Bought all my fittings from Mr. Bobby_M above and I'm not looking back.

At the end of the day, it's just beer.