Things are getting Funky and I hate it!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AndMan3030

Reaction score
I've been brewing for about ten years now and have not had many problems with sanitation or contaminated batches... Until now.

I recently have had a few batches go bad on me. Dumping 10 gallon batches down the drain is the worst! This first happened to me with a couple of Lagers this spring. I chalked that up to sitting at cold temps for extended periods of time in my corny kegs, thinking there must have been something in the kegs... cleaned them thoroughly and moved on.

Last week I brewed another 10 gallon batch, splitting it into two fermenters. I used a vial of British Ale Yeast, one vial in each. the next day one was bubbling away and the other was not. The one bubbling away made a nice layer of Krausen, the other did not. Today the Krausen has subsided, and the other has started to show the signs of contamination. those bubbles on the surface that look like they are covered in dust. I popped off the air lock and smelled inside the carboy. Yuck!

I'm over this!! do I need to destroy all my equipment? Has anyone went through a period where they were having issues with contamination on consecutive batches? what should I do!?

:mad::mad::mad::mad:

If you use plastic in your process you may not find it easy to clear up any infection. The short answer is, "Replace all your plastic brewing equipment."

But of course some things are easier to clean than others. A combination of mechanical cleaning, chemical cleaning, and powerful sanitizing might save a bucket or something, but most of that is pretty cheap and IMO not worth the hassle.