Stir the Mash on an All-Grain Brew?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dave77

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Ok, a question from a first-time all-grain brewer:

Should you stir the mash or just let it sit (or does it matter?)

The reason I ask....I was watching it very carefully, and it was holding at 152-153F as the recipe called for, which made me think 'Yes! I'm a pro!'

But, then at about the 40 minute mark, I got bored and decided to stir the pot (not sure if I should have or not, but...I did...). After stiring, I took a temperature reading and it dropped to 147F! (using an electronic thermometer)

So, I added heat and got it back up, but I guess the temperature then isn't consistent throughout the pot? Should I worry? Thoughts?

Thanks in advance...

I don't stir, but I am using a Brewzilla and am continually recirculating the wort back through the grain bed during the mash....

Don't worry, you didn't ruin your beer. Most starch conversion is completed in the first 15-20 minutes of the mash. As starches convert at lower temperatures, you get more fermentable sugar in your wort resulting in a beer that typically finishes dryer as opposed to sweeter. No damage done unless trying to perfect a beer style.

If your equipment allows for recirciliation then by all means do that. I do BIAB and don't have pumps. After I mash in (adding the grains to the strike water and stirring good) I cover and insulate my kettle and let it ride for an hour. My typical temperature drop is 1-1.5 degrees. Then when the hour is up, I stir the mash again before pulling out the grain bag. My efficiency is very good using this method as far as BIAB goes.