Steeping Grains

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

puravida286

Reaction score
When using steeping grains such as crystal malt, should they be thrown in at the beginning of the boil or simply steeped in hot water (in a grain bag) before the wort is boiled and removed prior to adding the malt. Is there a disadvantage to boiling crystal malt for 45mins-1hr? This is definately a newb question but...SURPRISE, i'm a newb, haha, I have my very first batch on its 3rd day in the primary. BTW this site is great and I appreciate all of you experienced brewers helping everyone out!

You want to steep grains in a grain bag prior to boil. This should be done at 150~170 degrees F for 20 to 40 minutes. This is the temperature at which the grains give up their malty goodness.
I can't remember the exact reason for not boiling the grains beyond that, but I think it has something to do with tannins.
This is an excellent tutorial or steeping (and everything else)
http://www.howtobrew.com/section2/chapter13.html

uh oh, during my first batch I boiled 1lb of crystal malt for 45 minutes! will this have a drastic effect on the taste of my brew?

Taken from http://www.howtobrew.com/section2/chapter13-2.html

...astringent tannin compounds (a.k.a. phenols) can be extracted from the grain husks. The compounds give the wort a dry puckering taste, much like a black tea that has been left to steep too long. The extraction of tannins is especially prevalent if the water is too hot - above 170°F...

I've never boiled grain before so I can't really comment on the taste. Likely, it will taste different than you may have expected, but that may not be bad.

puravida286 said: