Starter Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lxa4christ

Reaction score
I am new to brewing and ordered 3 kits from AHS for brewing on Saturday. I With the kits I ordered WhiteLabs Vials for my yeast. The packages arrived yesterday to my home in Central FL. Last night when I got home from work, I brought the packages inside. I made 3 starters by instructions and finished around 1100 last night. This morning, nothing appears to be going on in the jars. I have aluminum foil loosely around the tops of the lids. I have seen numerous threads that say this is no big deal. How can I deteremine if the starters have been successful as opposed to yeast that went bad in shipping? I know that all the yeast vials came with cold packs, but the cold packs were room temperature when I opened the packages.

Thanks for the help!!!

Did you use a stir plate? Did you use loose sanitized foil? Did you swirl it every hour plus? Usually 14+ hours is good. Is thewort in the starter cloudy? Mine goes from a colored clear consistency to cloudy colored.

No stir plate and I was in bed overnight but stirring it every so often. I did use sanitized foil. I loosened it a little this morning just in case it was too tight.

Search for responses from revvy but you may need to give it a little more time. I usually let the starter run for 24 hours. Good luck. Maybe add a pic?

Also be sure to watch the bottom of your starter container for a layer of yeast... Depending on what strain you're using it's appearance will vary, but it typically looks like a whitish mud.

Thanks for the responses. I will check on them when I get home tonight and post pics if I still have questions.