Spunding for lager in Sanke Keg

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

erichsmith

Reaction score
I’m now a professional brewer but still do some homebrew stuff. Spunding is relatively new to me and I’ve got a valve. I want to do a lager and ferment in a Sanke keg. I’ve got a way to put the valve on. My concern is, when it’s finished, how would I transfer to my serving keg? I’ll have the spear out of the fermentation keg.

Edited for additional info

I bought a fermenting kit for cleaning and closed transfers.. It has worked very well.

I plug the liquid side during fermentation, you could do the same for spunding. The only issue I had was a worn gasket did not want to seal very well, a new/spare gasket on hand would have been ideal.

https://www.norcalbrewingsolutions.com/store/Sanke-Keg-Tee-Fermenter-Kit.html

@Bassman2003 - Nice video. Best one I have seen covering spunding, purging with fermentation CO2 and closed transfers.

@erichsmith - Since you are a professional brewer, I assume you have access to plenty of Sanke couplers. So why not use them? I ferment in a 1/2 barrel Sanke keg, with the spear in the keg, and use Sanke couplers, with the check valves removed, to ferment, purge the serving keg with CO2 from fermentation and closed transfer. See attached video for its configuration during fermentation. The blue handled ball valves on the fermentor allow me to change from fermenting to a closed system transfer to the serving keg.

This setup is more economical than those shown above assuming that you can borrow two couplers from the brewery if you need to.

Attachments

• FermentingSetup.MOV
    48.4 MB
@Bassman2003 - Nice video. Best one I have seen covering spunding, purging with fermentation CO2 and closed transfers.