Sparging too fast?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

motobrewer

I'm no atheist scientist, but...
Reaction score
I've just started fly sparing and I'm having some efficiency issues. I get great mash conversion and first runnings but my problem is I get to my pre-boil volume and my final runnings are still really rich (1.016).

So I'm getting terrible boil kettle efficiency. I could just keep sparging but I don't want to sit there and boil for 2 hours. Am I sparging too fast? Incorrectly?

How long does it take you to sparge, and for what batch size? Can't compare to typical fly sparge times without knowing your time.

Since your end of sparge runnings are relatively high SG, you probably don't have a channeling problem.

What is the dead volume of your mash tun? The more dead volume you have, the more high gravity wort can be retained there, and it could take extra sparge water to dilute the wort in the dead volume in order to get your final running gravity down where you want it.

Brew on :mug:

I'd say you're sparging about half as long as you need to for that batch size. We do 12-13g into our BK and 10g out of the fermenter and I'm fly sparging for 60 minutes minimum (often 75-90).

too slow of a fly sparge. I had this problem when I started. I typically have a 45-60 min sparge time for a 5 gal batch. Thats getting around 6.5-7 gal in the BK. Try and slow things down. Slower is better

I like batch sparging too. But, I have found that fly gives a much better eff. I went from 70% to 85% when I started fly sparging. Personally I find the time invested is worth the price savings on grain. I love shaving a dollar here and a dollar there on my brews.

10 gallon batch, probably 30 minutes or so.