Some inspiration for the beginner brewer!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MikeOBrien

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I am new to the forum but have browsed it and read threads through the past months of frustration while trying to brew and find the best results and methods. I put this in the Beginners Beer Brewing Forum not so much as a question, but maybe a little inspiration? What may seem like a book I am about to write, this is my story from day 1 of brewing until this moment where i finally tapped my keg and had a brew that I consider one of the best ive ever had!

About me: I am a 25 year old mechanic who just happened to stumble into brewing and now it is a huge hobby for me! Got a Mr. Beer kit as a christmas present from an ex. girlfriend December 2013. This kit had an extract "light beer" kit with the liquid malt and all. Finally decided to open it and brew once i moved into my new place Sept. 2014, almost 1 year after receiving the kit. Instead of using the LME that came with the kit I went to a local homebrew store and bought some wheat LME and used it. After fermentation was done and out of the little Mr. Beer keg it fermented in, I bottled and waited. After it carbonated it tasted like complete ****! From there i knew brewing was more than just mixing sugars to water, adding yeast and waiting. Second batch was a Brewers Best Double IPA kit with all LME and the Brewers Best starter kit with fermenting bucket, bottling bucket, etc... Brewed just fine, and bottled. While waiting for that to carbonate i got a Dead Ringer IPA from Northern Brewer. Still using LME, as soon as i added the Malt to the boil something happened which I knew was a no-no... I never took the kettle off the flame and the malt hit the bottom of the kettle and burnt into