So far, so good.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stokes_

Reaction score
Had a notion to grow some hops this year so I ordered some rhizomes in March. Going pretty well so far(considering this is my first time growing anything). I'm growing cascade, magnum, centennial, columbus, nugget, and zeus. The only thing I'm unsure about is when to harvest. I've read that it's when they are more potent, but mine really don't have any aroma to them yet. Does that come in later August or September? The cones are pretty large, do they quit growing and then become potent?

Here's some pics:

hop line.jpg

centennial.jpg

cascade.jpg

cascade 2.jpg

If you do some research online you'll find the common descriptions. Some of the basics are:
They should not feel wet or sticky on your fingers, but more like tissue paper or dry tree leaves.
They should spring back when squeezed gently between your fingers.
They should have a lot of yellow lupulin (like pollen) in between the leaves.
The lupulin should have started to change from a bright yellow to more of a golden color.

"do they quit growing and then become potent"
That's the basic idea.

As johngaltsmotor says, hops aren't ready to pick until papery and full of fragrant, yellow lupulin.

If you have a kitchen scale, I encourage you to weigh the hops before and after drying. Dry hops should weigh about 25% of the wet measurement. Less means that you picked too early.

day_tripper,
You may have seen this before, but here are all the details:
http://blog.uvm.edu/hoppenin/2012/08/24/hop-harvest-readiness/

Assuming the hops are picked at 23% dry matter and then dried to 90% give you:
dry / wet = 25.6%