Should I worry about slow fermentation?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jbug440

Reaction score
Hi,
Im new to home brewing and finally decided to make a post here.I did one extract and went to all grain and have done about 6 batches so far. My latest batch is a belgian wit for my wife. I had an o.g. of 1.056 and made a starter of WLP001.My starter didnt exactly take of compared to previous starters,there where no bubbles or krausen but I didnt worry about it and pitched it. It took about 3 days for any activity to appear in my carboy,when it did it has been a slow fermentation. The beer has been in primary for 16 days now with 1 small bubble in my airlock every 5 seconds. I took a gravity reading today and it is at 1.029. I had planned on racking to secondary at day 14 and adding some more sweet orange peel to the fermenter,then let it secondary for another 7-10 days. I guess i need some advice on what to do. How long should I let it stay in primary? I really wanted to open up my carboy this weekend for a brown ale my buddy and I were gonna do. Is there a certain gravity I should hit before racking? I have hit a fairly consistent temp of around 68 degrees throughout fermentation. The only problem I had with this beer was cooling it after the boil before i pitched. It took me about 2 1/2 hours to get it to 80 degrees when I pitched due to equipment failure.Sorry for such a long post.
Thanks,
Mike

Sounds to me like you may have a leak in your fermenter (bucket?) that is letting the Co2 out and you not even knowing it; Been there, done that. I would put some yeast nutrients in it or maybe even pitch another batch of yeast. it's nearly there but for the idea of opening up your fermenter, pitch another! brew that next batch!