Sediment Day 1

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

neo1981

Reaction score
Hi
My Day 1 of fermentation, it’s a small patch, but I can see lots of sediment. I took 2 photos: one at 5pm which looks like half of the jar is sediment, and one at 9pm which looks very cloudy but sediments are down. Any opinions if something is wrong and I need to start again?

Attachments

• IMG_4513.jpeg
    IMG_4513.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_4514.jpeg
    IMG_4514.jpeg
    927.5 KB · Views: 0
Seems odd. Might be useful to know what's in there: recipe?
1.5 pound red wheat malt
0.33 pounds 2 row pale
0.15 Honey malt
Less than 2 gallons of water
Mosaic hops 0.044 pound 5 minutes in last 60min boil
Mosaic hops dry after cooling 0.022 pounds
Yeast 0.0044 pounds

I am a beginner, so don’t ask my why this mix. It was a Google search

1.5 pound red wheat malt
0.33 pounds 2 row pale
0.15 Honey malt
Yeast 0.0044 pounds

Mash 45min, boil wort 55min + 5 with hops. Chilling in sink with ICE. Move to fermentation jar, yeast, hops, and airlock.

1.5 pound red wheat malt
0.33 pounds 2 row pale
0.15 Honey malt
Yeast 0.0044 pounds

Assuming this was done on the stovetop and that everything in the 'kettle' was poured into the jar, it looks very much like my own first brews...the seemingly excessive crud only being the hot and cold break material along with everything else.
Looking good so far! :thumbsup:

What's the volume of that fermentation jar?

After the mash was done, how did you separate the wort from the (spent) grains?
What temperature did you mash at?

Did you take a gravity reading after the wort had cooled?

What's the volume of that fermentation jar?

After the mash was done, how did you separate the wort from the (spent) grains?
What temperature did you mash at?