Rookies Making Rookie Mistakes: Blow-Off Solution Sucked into Fermenter During Crash

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi HBT! Newbie here in a small panic while learning the hard way!

I'll spare the backstory and get to it - this morning before I went to work, I fired up the chiller to begin crashing a batch. I checked in on it this evening and after looking at the blowoff tube and bucket, my heart sank - I neglected to do anything about the blowoff hose and I am almost positive it has now sucked a fair amount of Star San.

Almost positive. I don't know 100% for sure unfortunately. But if it did...is it dead now?

Some folks say that they can taste small amounts of starsan and take great pains to exclude any trace from their beer, but I think most of us would say that a little starsan isn't going to ruin your batch. And it's probably better than sucking back air.

There are a number of ways to protect your beer from suckback during cold crashing, and most of them have been discussed on this forum. NorCal solution. Brewhardware solution. You can also DIY similar devices if you're so inclined.

Last edited:
Hi HBT! Newbie here in a small panic while learning the hard way!

I'll spare the backstory and get to it - this morning before I went to work, I fired up the chiller to begin crashing a batch. I checked in on it this evening and after looking at the blowoff tube and bucket, my heart sank - I neglected to do anything about the blowoff hose and I am almost positive it has now sucked a fair amount of Star San.

Almost positive. I don't know 100% for sure unfortunately. But if it did...is it dead now?
Been there and done that.
The experience I had turned out fine, not noticeable to taste and didn't interfere with carbonation.