Right amount of phosphoric acid?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

berndawg84

Reaction score
So I'm just getting into water chemistry, so forgive my ignorance. I don't have an accurate water report (working on it), but want to start with adjusting mash pH first.

I used Bru'N Water to look at this. I'm doing BIAB. With an initial mash water pH of 8.0, my estimated mash pH is 5.71 for my grain bill:

Fermentables

Amount Fermentable PPG °L Bill %
10 lb Belgian - Pilsner 37 1.6 81.6%
1 lb German - Vienna 37 4 8.2%
1 lb Belgian - Wheat 38 1.8 8.2%
0.25 lb American - Carapils (Dextrine Malt) 33 1.8 2%
12.25 lb Total

I'm shooting for a mash pH of 5.3, so Bru'N Water says that if I have

10% phosphoric acid, I should add 0.3ml of the PA to get to 5.3pH. My total water volume for the BIAB 5.5gallon batch is 7.3 gallons of water.

I just want to make sure I'm using the calculator correctly. Does this sound right to people? It doesn't seem like a lot of phosphoric acid compared to what I've seen listed in other threads. Thanks much.

Without knowing your water's mineral composition, its pH means very little. Call your water company and ask to talk to someone in charge of water analysis. They have those figures you're interested in.

Do you have any numbers, the most critical ones (Ca++, HCO3-)?

How have your beers been so far?

Without knowing your water's mineral composition, its pH means very little. Call your water company and ask to talk to someone in charge of water analysis. They have those figures you're interested in.

Do you have any numbers, the most critical ones (Ca++, HCO3-)?

How have your beers been so far?