Refractometer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

redrocker652002

Reaction score
As I continue searching thru the mass of items I got from Bbeerme, I happened upon a Refractometer. It is Brix only it looks like, which is ok cause it is an easy conversion from that to Gravity. I am new to this and it has a sticker on the side of the box that says SR32ATC. A google search has come up empty, at least in my limited internet ability. LOL. I tried it with plain water and it read 0 on the scale. I used it in conjunction with my Hydrometer and that seemed to match up. My reason for post is two fold. First off, I cannot find any type of adjustment for calibration, but wondering why it would need that? It is just a sight glass with a scale on it. Also, the ATC part tells me it adjusts to temps, which could be helpful in the future as I rely more on it during the boil. I cannot find a brand or manufacturer name on it, so that is about all I have. It is really cool and will help me not to have to dump a whole hydrometer worth of wort just to check mass gravity during the process.

Also, Bbeerme was kind enough to include a PH meter. I had to get batteries for it, so I will be checking that soon as well. I emailed the company and they said that model has not bee in production for about 15 year. So it is an antique LOL. Anyway, just sitting having my coffee and wondering about this and anything anybody can help me out with.

Oops, one more thing. I spent the afternoon yesterday cleaning 5 of the 11 kegs he gave me. Nothing more productive than sitting watching my homemade keg washer doing it's think while enjoying a beer or three. LOL. And I told my wife just how busy I was. LOL Rock On!!!!!!!!!

I tried it with plain water and it read 0 on the scale.