Red Ginger Wine Help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have a friend who is getting married, she is a ginger, and the man she met is also a ginger. They are playing it up as a wedding theme, the whole two gingers and gingers united. Someone mentioned i should make a ginger wine for them as sort of a joke/nice wedding gift. I found a recipe that seems decent, but my question is if there is a way to have it come out with a red color. I am new to wine and don't have the experience to know how to change the color. Everything I thought of would be more pink I think. This is the recipe I found, and I would also take suggestions if anything seems off:

7 1/2 pints white grape juice
1/2 lb chopped golden raisins
2oz ginger root
2lbs sugar
1/2 tsp acid blend
1/4 tsp tannin
1 tsp yeast nutrient
1 pack champagne yeast

sweeten to 1.008 before bottling

Would changing some of the white grape juice to regular give it a red color? I know I may not get a vibrant red, just thought it would add something to have it sort of red. Any help would be appreciated!

The short answer is: yes, exchanging red juice for some or all of the white would give you the color you are looking for.