Recipe for a spiced braggot / a sack mead?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DG123

Reaction score
Hi. I already tried to make a thread about this a day or two ago but it seems to have vanished or not posted properly, so I'll try again...

I'm new to brewing in any form. But my father has made wine and mead before so should be able to help me out.

I'm currently looking to work out whether the right ingredients for what I am considering are available (in England where I'm located) and how expensive it would be.

I really have no idea what types of honey, or yeast, or malt I should be using.
Any advice is appreciated. Recipes are even better!

There are two kinds of mead that I'm hoping to attempt at some point.

1. Sack mead. I can't buy Sack mead anywhere and I am therefore not sure what it should taste like. But what I'm hoping for is a very sweet mead, strongly honey flavoured as opposed to tasting like a white wine. Flowery flavour wouldn't hurt. Maybe mild spice? I don't want a drink that is overpowered with ginger or chilli or anything like that.

2. Braggot. I have in mind a strongly honey flavoured mead/beer hybrid, possibly closer to a stout than normal beer. I'm hoping to have a sweet malty flavour. No coffee like malt taste. Chocolate malt taste could be nice. Again, maybe some kind of mild spice? Sweet spices like chai latte, perhaps?

On a related note, is a "sack braggot" possible? Can the two be combined to give something deliciously sweet but also malty? I'm not sure if this would cause issues with the required yeast.