Recipe check for a Coopers IPA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

boomguy

Reaction score
So after lurking, reading and studying a few of the hundreds of threads on this forum I drew up a conservative recipe for a Coopers IPA that I picked up at the supermarket the other day to get back into brewing. This recipe would be based around the insrtuctions I found in the beginners forum for a partial mash add to beef up these kits as well as a good dose of hops that my wife and I grow in our garden.
Here it is...
1.7 kg Coopers IPA hopped extract
500 g of gambrinus 2 row
200 g of crystal 60
500g of amber lme
cascade hops 14g @ 45, 14g @ 25 , 14g@ 5
dry hop 42g in secondary

Please feel free to add or subrtract any of the quantities listed, technically I'm a noob when it comes to this.
I'm hoping that I have enough malt and grains to replace the traditional sugar that is usually added, but if I don't I do also have the coopers dry pack #2 that I could top up with.

thanks in advance

Since you've got a little under half a pound of crystal 60L in there,you could use plain light LME to keep the color more in line for an IPA. 500g of 2-row is about 1.3lb,so about 1.8lb of grains will make a small contribution,but not much in the way of fermentables. The 500g of LME combined with the Cooper's can & the grains should make the brew somewhere around OG 1.046.