Question about primary fermenting

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

turboint3gra

Reaction score
Good day!

I am new to the sport of Homebrewing and for my first few batches I have been brewing primary (4-5 days) then secondary until fermentation is complete.

After reading some threads on the forums here I have been led to believe that secondary may not be necessary and that one can keep the beer in the primary for the duration of the brew.

The way I have been using the primary (plastic bucket) is just mixing everything pitching the yeast and then leaving the lid loosly on the top of the bucket. My question is how are you guys brewing if you dont switch to a secondary? Are you sealing the bucket tight with a hole drilled into the top for an airlock? Or are you leaving the lid on loosely for the first few days and then sealing it afterwards once the initial kick of fermentation has subsided?

Ian

I always close the top and use an airlock. I keep the beer in the fermenter for 2-4 weeks, depending on what it is and how busy I am with other things.

for people who use buckets thats exactly what they do. clamp the lid down tight and add an airlock to allow the pressure to escape. but even with this set up sometimes the CO2 escapes somewhere besides the airlock. so if you do go this rout don't be surprised if nothing happens in the airlock.

for future reference the general consensus around here is that you should leave the beer (ale) on the yeast for 3ish weeks before bottling. and use your hydrometer not your airlock to determine when fermentation is actually done.