Question about cold crashing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mindiB

Reaction score
Well more like an idea ... I have no fridge space for a carboy but I do have a cooler was thinkin on put carboy in cooler top with ice for 4 hours then rack and bottle then pasturize ... any thoughts?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Home Brew mobile app

Hey, I'm pretty new to this and like you have no access to a fridge. My impression from all of the lurking about on this forum is that 4 hrs won't be enough time to cold crash.

I've got an old cooler (doesn't even have a lid!!) that I'm planning on filling with ice (and cider bottles), piling towels and bed sheets etc. on top of for insulation and then cold crashing for as long as I can manage. I think I should get about 18hrs before all of the ice melts. My understanding is that the longer you cold crash for, the clearer your cider will be. Also, the less yeast you will have in suspension so that when the cider warms up the less active it will be -or it will take longer for the yeast to reproduce enough to get the appearance of activity anyway.

As I said, no experience yet, but that's my understanding.

Hopefully, somebody with more experience can pitch in and let us both know how it should go!

R

Right I just want it to make the yeast drop out as much as possible then rack, bottle then pasturize to kill off yeast and have natural bubbles

4 hours will not do anything, i don't know where you are in the world but most places in North America are cold enough to cold crash outside right now, unless of course you're way down south in Texas or something.
why not use some sparkloid or other means of clearing?

can i ask how you are going to pasteurize?