please critique my fig recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GeneDaniels1963

Reaction score
I am very new to ale making, although I have been making ciders and wines for 4 or 5 years. I have an idea for a dark, fig saison:

1 lb Briess dark malt
1 lb raw sugar (or maybe brown?)
6oz crystal 80L
4oz flaked rye
zest of one orange
1.5 lbs dried, chopped figs in brew bag
1/2 tsp. Yeast Nutrient
128oz water
1 pt herbal tea (instead of hops)

I will make a yeast starter with some of my fruit so it is all local yeast. I might even add another lb of chopped figs into the secondary.

Any thoughts?

What do you mean by "dark malt"?

Using spontaneous/wild yeast only: it might take a long time for it to taste good, if it ever does. Adding a known Brett culture or sour/Brett dregs would help ensure it reaches that point.

Malt has phenolic precursors, unlike fruit juice, so wild fermentations have a lot more that can go wrong. Brett can eventually "fix" a lot of the initial off-flavors, but in a wild culture Brett is not guaranteed to be in the mix, or guaranteed to produce desirable flavors if it is present.

Hope this makes sense. Interesting recipe!

Last edited:
A saison yeast should give it a little funk/tartness if that is your goal. Want more of that select a strain of Brett that will give you what your looking for. As stated above wild fermentation can turn out good, but it could also be quite lackluster or just bad. If you go the wild route you are much braver than I.

To avoid confusion, the word "funk" is generally reserved for the unconventional flavors from non-Saccharomyces yeast (e.g. Brett) and/or bacteria, and not typical phenols from POF+ Saccharomyces (e.g. Saison yeast).