Please critique: Honey Bear Kolsch AG

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MikeRoBrew1

Reaction score
Hi there I am new to making recipes so I am looking for some feedback and suggestions.

I am trying to make a Kolsch with a touch of honey (honey malt, not actual honey) and biscuit flavors.

I am basing the recipe on my favorite kolsch, Kayak Kolsch from Lake Superior brewing. They say they use about 10% wheat, and I'm going to follow that. I have found some recipes around here that use more but I am sticking to only 1lb (10lb total grist).

Then I am sampling from some HBT recipes and the Midwest kit recipe and adding my own touch. Please help me improve or evolve this recipe before I give it a brew. Let me know if my base malt composition seems off, or if I am using too wide of a variety of adjuncts.

I have added my thoughts on changes and will edit this post with peoples comments. Thanks brew crew!

Honey Bear Kolsch
5 gal batch, 10lbs total grist
----------------------
-5lbs Kolsch Malt german (light, sweet, 'biscuit')
-2lbs Pilsner german (complex flavor)
-.75lb Vienna (for dry, slightly toasted flavor. Was thinking maybe Munich 10L but the lovibond rating was lower for vienna so that sounded better to me. Amount to add is also flexible.)
-1lb Honey Malt (intense honey like sweetness, no bitter roast flavor, does not add significantly to color)
-.75lb Pale Wheat german (flavor)
-.25lb Flaked Wheat (body and head retention)
-.25lb Caramel 10L (not sure if this one should be included at all or not)
-----------------------------
Hops
1oz Chinook @ 60min
1oz Saaz @ 0mins
Yeast
WLP028 German Ale/Kolsch

everything looks ok to me...