Pitch more yeast?....No, Im not a brewing Newbie, just new variables.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Feurhund

Reaction score
So, bit of background. Reason I am in this situation I the batch has a few new variables. First time using my new 60L Spiedel tank, and I am using a bottle cultured Schneider Weiss yeast grown up to a 1L starter, but admittedly a bit rushed.
So the ferment is 12 gallons of Weizen, all grain decocted etc. and I don't expect any fermentability issues from the brew day. It had an OG of 1.050 and after pitching at 63F and 24 hours it had a 2 inch Krausen. 5 days later gravity was 1.030 so I raised to 68F. At day 7 krausen has fallen and SG is 1.028.
Should I pitch a smack pack of Wy3068 to finish it off or give it more time? Main reason I want to hold off would be to keep a pure Schneider culture for washing. I am less confident in judging the ferment as it is more like an open ferment with all the headspace so i am not used to krausen behavior outside a carboy and of course a culture grown up from the bottle is not as reliable, so maybe it is just taking its time. Thanks for the input.

Try raising the temperature some more for a few more days before you try pitching more yeast. It's likely that you have plenty of yeast in there but some varieties like it quite warm to finish. I used Wyeast 3944 and had to get it to the mid-80's to get it to finish.

Thank you for the feedback. Wy3944 is a very different animal though as it is a Belgian Wit strain and can tolerate heat.