Pilsener as base malt for porter?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ali01

Reaction score
I've never done porters or anything dark before but I've liked the flavor and I wanna try making some of my own
As for the base malt, I can only get my hands on pilsner malt or Vienna malt
I wonder if I can use Vienna malt as the base malt since I like my beer to taste as malty as possible, but I've heard it has less diastatic power, I just don't know if that's enough to cover all the starches from the specialty malts too
And as for specialty malts, I can only get black patent, pale chocolate and crystal malt
One more thing, I have a 8L container which I'm going to use as fermentations vessel for this project, I'll fill it up to about 7L
How much water and malt do I need to mix in together to get a rich 7L mash in the container? And by rich I mean malty and sugary

Welcome to the forums @Ali01 :mug:

I would go with the Vienna malt as it actually has easily enough Diastatic Power for self-conversion plus some 0 DP adjuncts. Weyermann claims their Vienna has a DP of 90, while Briess says 130 for theirs, while most plain two-row base malts are in the 120 area...

Cheers!

Welcome aboard Ali01!
I think for a Porter I might use the Vienna as well, though I have used Pilsner as the base for many styles.
Do you intend to ferment 7l in an 8l container? Or just mash it there? That might lack enough headspace for fermenting.
Good luck, keep us posted.

Welcome aboard Ali01!
I think for a Porter I might use the Vienna as well, though I have used Pilsner as the base for many styles.
Do you intend to ferment 7l in an 8l container? Or just mash it there? That might lack enough headspace for fermenting.
Good luck, keep us posted.
Thank you!