Off Flavor from an experienced homebrewer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ekjohns

Reaction score
I have been brewing all grain for about 6 years now. I have been trying to get everything perfect but still have this "off flavor" I have yet to nail down (more on that later). First I would like to give you my set up to clarify how I brew:

Grain
On a brew day, I grind my grain using a monster mill set with the recommended gap size (not significantly shredding grain). I grind the malt which has been stored cool and air tight slowly.

mashing.
I use an eBIAB and do 3 gal batches in a SS pot. Temperature is controlled by a controller and I mash with constant recirculation so temp is spot on. Water is 100% RO with added salts to give me water close for a pilsner. I add lactic acid to get pH to be about 5.4. Mash for 60 min with grain/water ratio ~1lb/2qts. After mash I remove the grain bag (let drain it separate pot) and bring to a boil.

Boil
I boil for 60 min then quickly cool with CFC (copper, boil to 70C) in about 15 min.

Fermentation
Wort is aerated with 100% oxygen for 1 min @ 1 lpm. I then pitch a big yeast starter grown up on a stirplate at room temperature. Fermentation is controlled in a minifridge with adjustable thermostat. I let all my beer sit for at least 1 month in primary. I ferment in 5 gal cornies.

Serving
After 1 month of fermentation beer is moved to a new keg and allowed to mature for 2-5 months before it gets moved to the kegerator. Beer is served at 36F with 12 psi.