Oatmeal Stout - no krausen/bubbles

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I've run into a first time issue and wondered if someone could advise. On Monday, I made an all grain version of Founders Oatmeal Stout, based on a recipe I got on the forums (recipe below). I followed the recipe per the all grain instructions, but did add a bit more oatmeal, increasing to a full 32 oz.

The reason for my concern is that after 48 hours, I've seen very little bubbles and no krausen. Took a hydrometer reading and based on that, it seems to be fermenting - started at 1.070 and is now 1.025.

This is my eighth all grain batch, but I've never done an oatmeal stout before. Each batch I've done, fermentation was always very visible. Would the oatmeal or coffee/chocolate additions somehow reduce krausen or bubbles? Any cause for concern from the lack of these things?

From BYO
13.2 lbs 2-row pale malt
22 ozs flaked oats
1 lb Chocolate malt (350 L)
12 ozs roast barley malt (450 L)
9 ozs debittered black malt
7 ozs crystal malt (120 L)
2 ozs ground Sumatran coffee
2 ozs ground Kona coffee
2.5 ozs dark bittersweet bakers chocolate
1.5 ozs unsweetened chocolate baking nibs (no idea what this is exactly but I used 100% cacao unsweetened bakers chocolate which I would think would work and is in the grocery)
14.3 AAU Nugget pellet hops 60 min (1 oz @ 13% AA) (I used Yakima Magnum of the same AA)
2.5 AAU Willamette pellet hops 30 min (1/2 oz @ 5% AA)
2.5 AAU Willamette pellet hops 0 min
1/2 tsp yeast nutrient 15 min
1/2 tsp Irish moss 15 min
WLP 001 or Wyeast 1056

OG 1.078 FG 1.020 ABV 7.5%