Now it's my turn - what brew kettle and what size?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

moreb33rplz

Reaction score
I know there are a lot of threads about this already but...whatever.

I've been brewing for 15 years and am looking to retire my much loved cheapo 10 gallon amazon pot. I've always done 5 gallon batches, brew outside on propane, BIAB w/ pulley, immersion chiller, then an auto-siphon to rack cool wort into fermentor (I don't have a valve on my kettle). I'd like a new kettle with a valve, big enough to sometimes do low gravity 9 gallon batches, very sturdy handles, and I intend to use it for 10 years. My questions are:

- 15 or 20 gallons?
- One port or two? I BIAB so I assume a thermometer would get in the way and am leaning towards only one port
- Ball valve or Butterfly? I'm willing to pay $50 more if it means I don't have to disassemble a valve every brew day but not sure that's how it works
- Welded or weldless?

I've been looking at the usual suspects: SS Brewtech, Brewbuilt, Spike+. Currently leaning towards a 15 gallon Brewbuilt with TC and Butterfly valve for $380.

For the ports, the whirlpool is one you'd put up high so if I had a pump I could recirculate mash or for chilling if i ever got a plate chiller?

For valve, for BIAB it will only get used to transfer cool wort to fermenter, so butterfly (is that the same as tri-clover)?

On the whirlpool port, yes it gets set up higher. Spike will do custom port configs for you. So if you tell them about your 9 gallon batch size target, they can set it low enough in the kettle for a whirlpool to work.