Not hitting full 5 gallons, why?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

starscream

Reaction score
So im relatively new to brewing and jumped right into all grain brewing. this is my 4th overall brew and i keep running into the same problem, not hitting the full 5 gallons in my fermenter. This last time, me and the lady brewed a vienna lager. 9.5 lbs of total grain. my strike water was 3.5 gallons and i batch sparged with 3 gallons. using the 1.5qts per/lb of grain for strike and 1.25qts/lb of grain for sparge. looking like i would have 6.5 gallons of wort, with an hours boil time i figured id lose 1-1.5 gallons giving me the perfect 5 gallons. well i only ended up with roughly 4.25 gallons. very little mush in the kettle, maybe a qt of wort. so why is this? am i really losing almost a gallon to the grain? am i boiling to high? i have a nice rolling boil the entire time with no boil over.

I also came out with a OG of 1.064. so i boiled water and added to the fermenter to hit 5 gallons and dropped the OG to 1.046. maybe i shouldnt have? I was thinking of switchin to fly sparging to help with hitting the 5 gallon marker. Any insight is greatly appreciated.

The grain will absorb a bunch of water. I BIAB and I lose almost a gallon to grain absorption, and you will likely lose more than me since your mash tun will retain more water than my bag. If you started with 6.5 gallons and ended up 0.75 short just use 7.25 next time. If you want to actually bottle 5 gallons you will need even more since you will lose some to trub in the fermenter also. Just add the extra water to your sparge water. The water to grain ratio of the sparge doesn't really matter.

I start with 8 gallons of water to end up with 5 gallons of beer in bottles.