New to brewing? Here are somethings I learned the hard way before my beer tasted good

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeastMaster

Reaction score
I'm by no means an expert I've done about about 30 AG batches and the last 10 have been far far better than the first 20. A lot of these tips will apply to extract/partial mash/biab.

When I started brewing I read a few books and jumped straight into all grain with some borrowed equipment from a friend who's beers were mediocre at best. I figured I'd get some kits off the internet and go for it. I then switched to buying at my lhbs. After many bad beers and a few lucky drinkable good ones I took a break from brewing until a coworker expressed interest in the hobby. This time around I havent had a bad batch yet.

Here's what the big changes have been.

1. Record keeping- Keep records of your beers as you brew. I include the recipe, any deviations made from the recipe accidentally or for whatever reason, target temps, actual temps, target preboil gravity if you know it, actual preboil gravity, target o.g., actual o.g., target f.g., actual gravity, tasting notes from a few different time periods, and any ideas I have about the recipes for the future. I also note down who was there for the brew day and if any of my friends particularly love the beer, more of a personal thing because I like to share my beer with people who appreciate it.

2. Measurements- This goes with record keeping. Take time to figure out your efficiency, equipment losses, grain absorption, etc. It's one less thing to take out of the equation and if you decide to start using brewing software it will allow you to customize settings specifically to your brewery.