New MLT tun

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Memnoch

Reaction score
Don't know if this is the best place for the question, but since it's DIY, figured it would fit in.

I'm still somewhat new to brewing, been doing extracts for about two years now, about 10 batches total, but now stepping into my first AG batches tomorrow.

I followed FlyGuy's 10 gal MLT and it seems to work out pretty good. I couldn't find the 5/8" washer for the inside, but I did get a neoprene washer instead. I saw somewhere in the thread that someone used it and seemed to work good. There aren't any leaks in it, so I guess that's a good start. Any pros/cons of using the neoprene and the washer that comes with the cooler?

So my second question is this, I found some other threads where people were having some heat loss in the MLT using a cooler. Some said to fill the top of the cooler, which isn't insulated, with foam insulation, but I wanted to see if there may be a good temporary fix. I know that Aluminum Foil can hold heat in fairly well, not as good as insulation, but it should keep the temp a little more even over an hour mash. Can anybody think of a reason why the foil would be bad? I'm basically putting the foil over the top of the MLT and then closing the top over it. Sorry if this topic was covered somewhere else, but I did do some searching first to see if it was covered anywhere, and I didn't find anything.

Any thoughts/comments would be great.