New BIAB brewer and set up

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

golfgod04

Reaction score
So I've been homebrewing for over a year now. I've only been doing partial mashes on my gas stove top (Ive been doing very well in competitions lately). When I started brewing, I started to on a shoestring budget. I bought a cheap 5 gallon stock pot. It's worked great for me but the pot is becoming very thing and needs to be trashed. So, I still dont have much money to spend. My problem is I've already ordered my next partial mash and need a new pot. Im hoping to borrow a pot from a friend for this last batch and then I think switch to BIAB. I live in MA and electricity costs so much money and I really do enjoy brewing on my gas stove top. I don't think my stove could handle the weight of an 7.5 or 8 gallon pot with all that water (I do have a nice gas stove with a giant burner specifically for large stock pots). So after much debate, I think im going BIAB with a propane burner. My problem is, can I do that for around $100? I have a very limited budget.
Here's what I am thinking

Brew Kettle:
40 Quart Stock Pot for $69.65 with lid
I would prefer a pot like this but once you add the accessories, its over $100 Is there a similar alternative?:
SS Pot with 2 Weld for $106.96 (includes ball valve and thermometer I can't find another brew kettle that is similar with the features for less money.

Burner:
Bayou SP10 Burner for $49.97

Bag:
Wislerbrew biab bag

Is there any way to do this for less money or better equipment for the same money? I know I should get a 10 gallon brew kettle but cant find anything better. Thanks in advance for any recommendations

Last edited by a moderator: