Need some help: Off flavors and a string of bad batches

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ericwatkins_utk

Reaction score
Just as it says, I'm on a string of off flavored, bad batches. It really started back in about March with a batch of Dunkel. The dunkel was kegged and and on first draught, I immediately smelled a plastic like aroma from the glass and the same taste followed. I'm not really good with pinpointed which "off flavor" it is but it could have been band-aid like or maybe just oxidized. Plastic is definitly the charastic that comes to mind.

Since then I've brewed 5 batches. Most have turned out ok, but nothing spectacular. My most recent batch was a pumpkin ale and I just popped open the bottle and got the same plastic like taste and smell. I sampled the beer on bottling day about a week and a half ago and the flavor and smell was definitly not there. The only thing the beer has come in contact with since would have been the siphon, bucket, and bottling spigot.

I thought maybe it is equipment contamination, but that doesn't really make since because it appeared in a kegged batch and a bottle batch with the siphon being the only common element. Just looking for help / suggestions??

So you've fermented in different vessels? What about yeast strains or dry vs. active? Temperature while fermenting? Is your brew pot REALLY clean?