need basic Hefeweizen recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

surtur

Reaction score
I am a beginner, I have been doing the kit beers (brewhouse)for far to long the most simple home brew possible.. (only thing i really learn about is sanitation) but now i want to start All Grain and am looking at the BIAB setup since all i really need to get is a Stock pot and a few small items.
but how to start? i have a few Home brew stores in my area but i am not 100% sure what they offer other than the kits so i might have to look online for ingredients.

no i would like my first few batches to be a nice basic Hefeweizen
i am looking at doing 5-5.5g batches. (looking at a 9gal stock pot)
now does anyone have a very simple recipe for me

i found this one (is this good for BIAB) and if so would this work in the 9g pot or would i need to scale down and how would i go about getting down to the 5-5.5g size?
6.25 Gal
6 lbs. - Pilsner Malt
6 lb. - Wheat Malt

1 oz - Hallertau
Wyeast Weihenstephan Weizen (3068) - 800 ml starter ( i know there are a few different yeasts to choose from for this style)

now my question for this recipe is, is the 6.25 Gal the finished amount or starting amount of water? obvious nOOb question.

and does this sound like a good starting point for a nice weiss beer

If the recipe calculations are correct, then 6.25 should be the starting amount of water. The grain will absorb some water, so that is why you start out with more than 5g of water. As far as sparging, I am not familiar with a BIAB set up, so I cannot help you there.

EdWort has a simple Hefe recipe that has become one of my favorite beers! I brew it often and we never get tired of it!