N2 tank has a CO2 reg fitting- confused

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mymbtheduke

Reaction score
I got a No2 tank a few months ago on CL. It says 75% NO2 and 25% Co2. 2000lbs at 70 degrees. I never looked at the regulator connection but when I went to put my Nitro reg on it, it was a male to male connector. I took my Co2 reg off my Co2 tank and put it on the Nitro and it registers 1500 lbs at 38 degrees (it was in the frig). Is this a legit Nitro tank? Have I been taken by this sale on CL?

Thanks for answering. I am new to Nitro and their isn't too much on the web.

it is not very common but there is no real difference in the tanks or the valves for nitrogen or co2. its all just the connections.

if its at 1500 psi its either nitrogen or nitrogen co2 mix. you wont get co2 up to 1500 psi under normal conditions.

we have numerous customers that only have one cylinder and they dont want to have the valve changed, so we just put the beer mix into their co2 tank. it wont hurt anything.

Good. Thanks for taking the time. I connected it to my keg of Murphy's Stout clone and will let it sit for a week at 30 lbs and 38 degrees. Can't wait to use my stout faucet.

when i hooked up my beer gas system 30 psi was real high. i ended up going down to just about 20. but 30 is a good place to start,

20# is about right for Stout. Everyone eventually finds the right pressure for their systems. I have 3 tanks now all with CO2 fittings on the tank and one of them holds beer gas mix. I actually changed out two nitrogen regulator connections to CO2 connections so all my regs would fit my tanks.

Salute! :mug: