My First Lager

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sellick

Reaction score
I'm still pretty new to brewing, only 4 ales and 2 ciders under my belt, and now have a fridge for fermenting so I decided to give it a go!

I'm using a partial mash recipe I found, here, as my base recipe, but it'll be slightly different due to the malts I bought.

Here's my recipe:

6 lbs Pale LME
1 lb Extra Light DME
.62 lbs Crystal Malt 10L

2 oz Mt Hood
.5 oz Hersbrucker
.5 oz Saaz
.5 oz Hersbrucker
.25 oz Saaz

Pilsner Lager Yeast WLP800

This is the first time I've done a yeast starter, I'm a little nervous that I won't have enough yeast by tomorrow though... I just found a pitch rate calculator and for a lager at a 1.051 OG it says I need 4 vials of liquid yeast. I made my starter with 1 and I highly doubt that it'll quadruple in size within 24 hours. I don't have a stir plate, which I understand really helps to speed things up, so I've been giving it a few swirls every hour or so.

Tomorrow when I go to pitch, how will I know how much I actually have? Need to know how to measure how much I have to know how much more I would need to buy for pitching.

Anyway, I figure I'll have plenty more questions about lagering, so figured now was a good time to start a thread.

Also built an immersion chiller today. 50' of 3/8". Really happy with how it turned out, no kinks and feels really sturdy when I pick it up. Looking forward to using it tomorrow.

For proper lager pitching rates, you really need two vials into a starter, or one vial if you are stepping-up your starter (but this takes days). However, some brewers swear that a starter made with a single vial pitched whilst active is just as good.